Saturday, February 16, 2019

Officially Moved

Hi gang,
Last headsup, I have now officially moved to wordpress. Sorry for any
confusion or inconvenience.
I was having too much trouble with blogger and I am "rebranding" myself.
I hope you can join me over there.
Thanks again for coming.
You can now find me here.
Good luck and happy reading!

Saturday, February 9, 2019

Moving to wordpress

Hi gang,
Thanks to all who are following me. I'm afraid I'm switching over to wordpress tho. I had too many issues with blogger and don't know how to fix them.
Plus, I decided to change my "brand" a bit.
I'm going to be a book blogger but I am also blogging about chronic illness.
I recently found out I have COPD.
I hope you guys will follow me over at wordpress, if not I will understand.
Sorry for any confusions.

Have a great weekend!

My new blog: 2turnthepage

Thanks again!

Wednesday, February 6, 2019

Book Review - Prologue to Murder by Lauren Elliott



I am one of the lucky ones who get to be on this series ARC reading list. Thanks to Lauren Elliott for allowing me the chance to review this series.
Btw, that is such a beautiful cover!

Prologue to Murder is actually the second book in the series(I admit the title confused me at first). Even tho it is a series, you don't have to read them in order to understand the main characters, tho it does make it more interesting.

So, what do you get when you add a 300 year old family feud, a town's history, pirates, and a murder? A recipe for a wonderful mystery! Just remember that not everyone there is who they appear to be, as they say don't judge a book by it's cover.

But seriously, if you are like me and love pirates and treasure hunt stories then you will have an absolute blast with this! I especially like this new character Simon, the story got much more intriguing when he came along.  Also, not to brag, but I usually am right when figuring out the who did it, but I was so wrong, thankfully. I was kind of ashamed to choose this one person as my suspect, but was so relieved when I found out otherwise. Let's just say your in for a shock, and sometimes there is a little truth to conspiracy theories.

So, if you love pirates and treasure hunting and family feuds, then this is definitely a must read. It's fascinating.



Saturday, February 2, 2019

#BookReview - The 13th Witch by Mark Hayden


I finally finished this book, honestly don't know why it took me this long. I want to thank Anne Cater again for allowing me to join the book tour and thank Mark Hayden for helping me get a copy that was readable on my table.

I have all the info on Mark Hayden and the book here.

Truthfully, I'm not even sure where to begin. I was literally blown away with this novel. Some of the concepts were just mind boggling, a why didn't I think of that kind of mind boggling. It does help to know your mythology and fairy tales, but make sure you have an open mind, cause this is a whole new take on them. I loved how descriptive Mark Hayden was. In fact, if you get queezy easily you might have a bit of trouble. I loved how you were never quite sure who the good guys were. I usually have a good idea as to who did it, but this time, not even close. I love that.  Actually, the only problem I had with this book was that it was written in British English, and I'm American. There were a few words that took me awhile to get used too. I also loved how Mark Hayden started with 13 instead of 1 like most people do, I thought it was clever. It's nice to know this is a series, cause you'll want to know more about the characters. I usually don't give stars but this is definitely a 5+ stars. I feel sorry for the rest of the books I'll read this year, they have a tough job trying to make it in the top 3 for the year, as this book set the bar pretty high. If you love magick, witches, fairy tales, mythology, family mysteries, then I highly recommend this book. You won't be disappointed.

Edit: Thank you Tracy for reminding me, I'm sorry I forgot to mention this is a stand alone. I mean you'll want to read the series when it's over but you don't have to read them to understand it. Plus, this is actually the first part of the series, not the last, I know the title might seem confusing. lol

Tuesday, January 29, 2019

Weekly Coffee Chat - #amreading #deepfreeze #beachreads


Hi gang, assuming you haven't turned into a human popsicle yet, hope you are staying safe and warm. I'm sorry for skipping last week and not replying to the comments. I need to figure out how to turn the notifications on. I swear, one day it's Monday, the next thing I know it a week or more has gone by, and I have nothing to show for it. Does that ever happen to you?
I'm seeing a doctor next week, I think my thyroid is out of wack again and I may have Fibromyalgia, it will be nice to finally get some answers tho. I hate being tired all the time. This cold weather isn't helping. I don't know about you, but I'm supposed to get -2 degrees tomorrow, that is without the windchill. Tho, yesterday it was warm and rainy.  I hate this this time of year, never know what to wear. lol
How about you, are you getting this polar vortex thing they keep talking about, or are you lucky enough to live in the South?

And speaking of the South, that is my topic of the week. I need a book that will remind me of warmer weather, either a beach read or set in the South. My dream is to retire to New Orleans, so I would love to know of any stories set in that city.

So, do you have any suggestions for me please? Not that I need a bigger tbr pile. lol
Thanks bunches!
Also, do you know how to turn on the notifications? 

Here is one that I read last Summer and loved. 


It's about a woman who moved to a small seaside town in Southern Carolina. She inherited a candy shop and family secrets. While she is in charge of making the famous yearly music festival, there is a murder, and the suspect has a box of her bonbons next to him. So, naturally she is a suspect and goes to try to clear her name.

I thought it was a fun read, I guessed right but there was a nice twist to it so it I wasn't completely sure. The characters were fun, especially her cute puppydog. She also has some great bon bon recipes in there. Tho, one is a bit too spicy for my acid reflux. lol
I definitely recommend this if you like beaches, candy, music and puppies. hehe

Hope you all have a great week and please stay safe out there!
Happy and warm reading!
Renee

Wednesday, January 23, 2019

#Booktour - the 13th Witch by Mark Hayden


Thanks to Anne Cater for allowing me to be on the Random Things Tours, and for helping me with the technical difficulties I was having, it is much appreciated.
Thank you to Mark Hayden for being nice enough to reach out to me, first author from a tour that's done that, I thought that was really nice. He also helped me by giving me an epub, since my tablet crashed I can no longer do pdf files. Thank you Mr. Hayden for that, and afraid I'm a slow reader(one reason why I love audiobooks,they read faster), so I'm still working on this novel, since I got it a bit late, my bad on that.

I apologize for any inconvenience for not having the review ready, will hopefully have it tomorrow. I can tell you this tho, this novel has set a high bar for any future books for making it to my 2019 top ten list. I don't give stars, but this is definitely a 5 star. If you love stories about Mythology and/or Magic(or is it Magick?) then you are in for a real treat with this one.

The 13th Witch by Mark Hayden
Paperback: 200 pages
Publisher: Paw Press (25 Aug. 2018)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1999821211
ISBN-13: 978-1999821210

Amazon: https://www.amazon.co.uk/13th-Witch-Kings-Watch-Book/dp/1999821211/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1544458871&sr=1-1


BLURB: Did you know that the gods can use mobile phones?
They can, and Odin has a message for Conrad…Conrad Clarke, former RAF pilot and alleged gangster gets a text – and a visit – from The Allfather.Odin has a challenge for Conrad: sign up to protect England from wild magick and get a commission in the King’s Watch.All he has to do is find a missing witch. Simple.Conrad never could resist a challenge. Before you can say “Ragnarok”, he’s plunged into a world of gods, mages, witches, dwarves and one very aggressive giant mole.But the witch doesn’t want to be found, and powerful mages will kill to keep her hidden. Going back isn’t an option. Going forward looks a lot like death.Armed with nothing but a sense of humour and a willingness to cheat, Conrad has to find the Witch and save his life.Treat yourself to a copy now and experience a whole new universe of magick. And moles…


ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Mark Hayden is the pen name of Adrian Attwood. He lives in Westmorland with his wife, Anne.

He has had a varied career: working for a brewery, teaching English and being the Town Clerk in Carnforth. He is now a part-time writer and part-time house-husband.

You can find Mark on Goodreads and on the Paw Press website.

Facebook Author Page


Thanks again to Mr. Hayden,, and I will do my best to have my review up tomorrow at the latest.

Renee


Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Weekly Coffee Chat - #Blognames ... How did you come up with yours?


Hi gang, hope your having a great week! I am starting to follow more blogs now, tho, still not as often as I'd like. But, I'm amazed at some of the creativity of bloggers, like how they come up with their names. I was always curious as to how people come up with their blog names.

I actually got my blog name by listening to Bob Seger's To Turn the Page song on the radio. One of the greatest musicians of all time, imo. Yes, I'm old. lol
I was trying to come up with a name for my book blog and that song came on, it was an aha moment. But, I was afraid of plagerising(I can never spell that, sighslol) so I added the to in front of it. But, I thought I'd be more unique if I used the number instead of the word. So, that is how I came up with mine.

So, this week's question is....how did you all come up with your blog names?
Thanks bunches!
Have a great week and Happy Blogging!

Renee

Sunday, January 13, 2019

#blog tour - Evil Things by Katja Ivar


Once again, I apologize for not having a review. I had technicality issues again. Maybe someday I'll have a decent computer. This sounded so intriguing too. 


EVIL THINGS                   
By Katja Ivar


Pub Date: January 11, 2019                 Market: Nordic Noir
Binding: Paperback B-Format            Price:  £8.99  
extent:              320 pages                            REPORT CODE: NP
BIC code: FA/FH                                   ISBN: 9781912242-092                               
Territory:       UK & Commonwealth, Europe

•A Nordic Noir of the first order set in deepest and darkest Finnish Lapland. Also a historical thriller of the Cold War.

•A woman author and a female heroine.
Evil Things introduces a wonderful new heroine in crime fiction. Hella Mauzer is a misunderstood, flawed, whip-smart detective, fighting against both prejudice and crime. 

Lapland, Finland, 1952. It’s the height of the Cold War and Finland is a snow-smothered powder keg. Sharing a long border with the Soviet Union the country is engaged in a high-wire act of protecting its independence from its sometimes dangerous neighbour. 
Hella Mauzer is the first female Inspector in the Helsinki Homicide Unit. Or was, until she was deemed too ‘emotional’ for the job and reassigned to Lapland. When a man disappears from a remote village on the Soviet border, Hella jumps at the chance to investigate. Her boss is sceptical; after all, people disappear in the snows of Finland all the time. Then a body is found. But the small village of Käärmela is harbouring a second crime. A crime whose evil is of another magnitude.


"Welcome to the most stubborn of cops, Hella Mauzer, righting wrongs in cold Lapland, a memorable character with just the right disdain for authority and its amoral attitudes to justice and women. A feminist 1952 cop before feminism was invented." Maxim Jakubowski, author of The Louisiana Republic

 “I read it in one sitting. It’s thrilling. The setting, the timing, being in the midst of the Cold War, and our stubborn, smart and brave heroine Hella – a woman fighting crime in a world opposed to her, are all elements I enjoyed. Katja Ivar turns a seemingly small random crime into something much bigger. A very good read!” Cecilia Ekbäck, author of Wolf Winter

“This is a remarkable debut — the best novel I’ve read this year. A historical thriller with a heart that keeps you enthralled to the final page. Ivar has constructed a frightening, atmospheric and addictive tale set in 1950s Lapland on the border with Soviet Russia. Spies, international conspiracies, overlaid on icily claustrophobic rural life. But above all in Hella Mauzer a believable heroine prepared to put her own life on the line for justice. I can’t wait for her next adventure.” David Young, author of A Darker State and STASI Child, both part of the Oberleutnant Karin Mueller series


THE AUTHOR: Katja Ivar grew up in Russia and the U.S. She travelled the world extensively, from Almaty to Ushuaia, from Karelia to Kyushu, before finally settling in Paris where she lives with her husband and three children. She received a B.A. in Linguistics and a master's degree in Contemporary History from Sorbonne University. Evil Things is her debut novel.


Published by BITTER LEMON PRESS•47 Wilmington Square•London•WC1X 0ET•E: books@bitterlemonpress.com
Distributed by TURNAROUND•Unit 3 Olympia Trading Estate•Coburg Road•London•N22 6TZ•T: 020 8829 3000
PR by Alex Hippisley-Cox•T:020 8488 3764 E: ahipcoxpr@btconnect.com


#audiobookreview - Murder in Keswick a Sherlock Holmes Mystery by William Todd


Thanks to the lovely Eline Blackman I found a way to get free audiobooks to do reviews for. Thanks to her blog, I was able to find this cool site, it has such a neat idea.   adopt-an-audiobook is where I got this from for an honest review.

This novel was narrated by Ben Werling.

I am a huge fan of Sherlock Holmes, won't say how many decades it's been since I started reading Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's stories. So, I'm always excited when I see some new mysteries and curious to see how they tell it.

I thought William Todd did a pretty good job in telling this story. The world building was spot on. I never heard of Keswick, let alone been there, but I can picture the town without a problem. I admit I guessed who dunit, but there was a nice little twist that I was not expecting. I love a mystery with a good twist. Also, Holmes figured out who dunit differently than I did, so that was intriguing.

The narrator wasn't too bad, he did a decent job with different voices. But sometimes he read too fast, I couldn't figure that part out. There was also music near the end of each chapter, or most of them, which made it hard to hear him. Sometimes there was background noise too, like when the characters were in the restaurant. I assume it's for ambience, and some people might enjoy that, but I had trouble hearing the narrator sometimes. Also, I noticed he would say the chapter number, but when I looked at the screen it was on a different chapter. I'm not sure what happened, it might be my cheap tablet, or not. I just didn't look at the screen after that.

All in all, I gave it a 4 star, the story was enjoyable. It was also a short one, it was a little less than 3 hours, so if you like to have a quick read, and you are a fan of Sherlock Holmes or mysteries, than I would definitely recommend this one.

Thursday, January 10, 2019

Weekly Coffee Chat - #amreading #tbr ...how do you choose?


Hello gang,
I hope you all have recovered from the holidays by now? I had a couple of rough patches, so I am just now getting back on track with my reading and blogging.

One of those rough patches was my tablet crashing. Thankfully, my best friend is a computer nerd, not that I'd tell him that. lol
But I lost an app and it won't download, so I lost a lot of books.
But I still have my Kindle app and Kobo app. I looked at them and had no idea I had that many books, I was like yikes!

Plus, there is my Netgalley.
I have two book tours, and one book from an author, so those I need to read first. Next month I am free to read anything, which I love the sound of that. But, I have no idea where to start, maybe the ones I've had the longest?

So, this is my question for you all....how do you decide what book to read, especially if you are like me and have a huge tbr pile?
Thanks bunches!

Hope you have a great weekend!
Renee

Tuesday, January 1, 2019

Weekly Coffee Chat - #HappyNewYear2019 #BloggingGoals


Hi gang, Hope you all have a Happy New Year! Did you get to do anything exciting for New Year's Eve? Between my health and lack of money and good weather, I just stayed home and watched the NYC ball drop on tv.

I was going to do those best books of 2018, but didn't get around to it, and I lost a lot of my data for it. So, I decided to talk about blogging goals.  Have you set any blogging goals for this year? Now, that I have learned a few things, I have set a few for myself.

My blogging goals for 2019:

1. Keep up with my weekly coffee chat, I just have to decide what the best day of the week is.
2. Start using Pinterest a lot more, I find that is the 2nd best thing to use next to FB groups, to get traffic.
3. Learn to read faster, so I can have more book reviews.
4. Find other book topics to discuss.
5. Try to write at least 2 blogs a week.
6. Try to comment on two blogs a day.
7. Save money to get a domain name, and maybe a business license so I can start a book promoting business.
8. Be more choosy with my books, so I don't get readers burnout.
9. Don't be afraid to ask publishers for books.
10. Remember this is a hobby for now, so don't stress if something doesn't work right or get done in time.


So, how about you, any goals for you this year?

Oh and one more thing, more like a word of advice. Backup backup backup!!!!
My tablet crashed a couple weeks ago, thankfully my bf is a computer geek. But, I lost a lot of books and book reviews, cause I didn't back them up. Now, I know better.

Happy Blogging!
Cheers!
Renee

Thursday, December 27, 2018

Weekly Coffee Chat - #Ten Things I Wish I Knew in the Beginning


Hi gang, 
I hope you all had a wonderful holiday season.  Since the new year is almost upon us, I decided to look back and share what I learned about blogging. I just started back in August, but between a couple of switching around and such, it's more like I started in late September.
Here are the top ten things I wish I had known in the beginning about being a book blogger. They are not in any particular order.

Edit: Apparently someone took offense to one of mine, and I had not meant to offend anyone. These are my opinions, not facts! I realize they may not be your opinion, and I'm fine with that. I just wish people would understand what an opinion is these days. *sighs*
  1. Blogger is better than Wordpress. I wish I had known that, Blogger is easier too use, so I wouldn't have wasted a month trying to figure out Wordpress. Now that it's changed, I'm really glad I moved to Blogger.
  2.  I wish I hadn't done the request thing. I thought it would be easy that way, but it just made it feel more like work. This is supposed to be a hobby and a way for me to practice my writing.  I always felt bad when I didn't like their book, too.
  3.  I wish I had known about netgalley and booksprout, now I mostly use them to get my books.
  4.  Also, wish I had known about asking Publishers for free books. Now, I use that too. In fact, my all time favorite tv writer has a biography coming out next year(been waiting years for him to make one), I wrote to his Publisher and was accepted in the arc readers list.  I'm so excited. Once I got over the nervousness of asking, it's so much easier than being asked.
  5.  Wish I knew how to do a welcome page, since I am not sure it gets read. I get quite a few requests that don't follow the guidelines, one time they didn't even get my name right. lol That is another reason why I don't do requests anymore.
  6.  I wish I knew exactly how to write a book review. There seems to be quite a few different ways, and I'm still trying to find my "voice".  I was hoping to get a job at a magazine someday, so trying to be professional without being dry.(If anyone has tips on this, please comment, I would be much obliged).
  7.  I wish I knew how fun this is, and done this years ago, might have a business by now. 
  8.  I wish I knew that I didn't have to do just book reviews, I would have had more blogs by now, and maybe that would equal more viewers?
  9.  I wish I had known that I can be picky with my genres. I feel I wasted a lot of time reading books that I normally don't read, and couldn't finish them. So, I decided to be a bit more picky and only do my 3 favorite genres. Having a lot more fun now, tho maybe less of an audience.
  10.  Last but not least... I wish I knew not to stress over this. I made it feel like work instead of a hobby. Now, I know not to do that anymore, my health can't take it. So, I don't put myself on any schedule, unless it's for a book tour, and I make sure to give myself plenty of time for those.

Those are the main things I have learned. I'm looking forward to next year, and learning more things about book blogging, like how to do SEOs, and read faster. lol

So, how bout you, have you learned anything new this past year? Please feel free to share in the comments, maybe I can learn some more new things that way.


Happy Blogging!
Renee


Monday, December 24, 2018

#Bookreview - A #Christmas Treat


I was lucky enough to receive a Christmas Cake Murder from the Kensington Publishing Company for free for an honest review.

 I think is a prequel to the Hannah Swensen Mysteries. We get the background as to how she got her bakery shop called the Cookie Jar. We also get a lot of yummy recipes and a twist to the story.

I absolutely love the recipes in here, and will share one at the end of my review.  I liked how she put her own personal touch to them. There was a neat little story within the story and it added a unique twist at the end. I also thought it was cool that the  "murder" happened near the end, I'm used to seeing it at the beginning. I thought that was a nice change of scenery, so to speak.  I did think it was odd that there wasn't any romance or even any flirting in it, which I love in a cozy. And the writing was a bit off, it seemed more like her 1st novel instead of the 23rd?  But it was a neat way of learning more about Hannah and how she got her bakery shop. I definitely want to read more of this series now. Yes, I will admit this, I haven't read any others, and this was actually a good one to start with, imo. Definitely adding her to my tbr authors.
Oh and at the end it shows you which pages the recipes are on, and it even has a conversion chart, which is great for us baking novices.

Here is a recipe from the book:

Cool Whip White Chocolate Frosting
This recipe is made in the microwave

8-ounces(by weight) tub of FROZEN Cool Whip(do not thaw)
6-ounces(by weight) bag of white chocolate or vanilla chips(she used Nestle & said a half of a 11 ounce bag will work too)
1 teaspoon of coconut or vanilla extract

Hannah's 1st Note: Make sure you use the original Cool Whip, not the sugar free or the real whipped cream

Place the Cool Whip in a microwave safe bowl.
Add the chips to the bowl.

Microwave the bowl on HIGH for 1 minute then let it sit in the microwave for an additional minute.
Take the bowl out of the microwave then stir to see if the white chocolate chips are melted. If they are not then heat them in 30 second intervals with 30 seconds standing, until it is melted.

Stir in the extract and let the bowl sit on the coutertop or on a cold burner for 15 minutes to thicken frosting.

When the time is up stir the frosting and retrieve the cake from refrigerator.

Frost the cake.

Hannah's 2nd Note: While your frosting is still soft and sticky, you can decorate your cake with more candied pineapple and red and green candied cherries if you wish. The top looks great if you make a circle of the red cherries on the outside of the top, a circle off candied pineapple just inisde the red candied cherries, and then a circle of green candied cherries inside the candied pineapple. (this is her Christmas cake)

Return the cake to the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes.




See, this is what I mean by more personal, I like how she writes notes to explain things.

All in all I thought this was a nice heartwarming Christmas story with a neat twist.



Friday, December 21, 2018

Happy or is it Merry Yule!


Hi gang,
I just wanted to wish everyone a happy or is it a merry Yule! I just recently realized that I am wiccan, and have been having fun learning all I can about the religion and this holiday in particular. I knew for a long time what I believed in, I just had no idea there was an actual religion for it, I must have cried for a good ten minutes when I figured it out.
I was actually researching for my novel, of all things. lol

I've already been hooked on witches, thanks to Joss Whedon, but now even more so.

So, I have a huge huge request for all of you.

I know there are many Christmas theme novels out there, but I can't really find any wiccan themed or Winter Solstice themed novels.

If you know any, could you please let me know in the comments.
And of course any good witch novels works too. I've got quite a few on my tbr, but can never have too many. Heck, I'm even writing one. lol
Thanks bunches!

Also, do you celebrate this holiday, if you do how do you celebrate it? Unfortunately, I'm broke, so hoping next year to be able to do something for it.

Have a wonderful Holiday and weekend!

Renee

Thursday, December 20, 2018

Janet Evanovich's 24th and 25th Stephanie Plum novels


I just finished listening to the last two of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series on audible. As usual, she doesn't disappoint. Not only do I love the names, Hardcore Twenty-Four and Look Alive Twenty-Five, but she brought in characters from her Charmed series(which I really love). I just love crossovers.
What I love is also what I hate, I love that all the characters are so lovable, but I hate it when someone asks who is my favorite, cause I can't choose. Well, ok, Ranger would be my top choice if I had to choose.
Lula and Grandma Mazur are such a hoot, they have so much spunk and not afraid to carry a gun and say what they think. You'd think they'd be the last person you'd want on a heist, but turns out they would be just what you needed.
I'm always sad when it ends, especially when it's dealing with Ranger.
Only part I don't like is Stephanie, when will she see the truth? I thought she did in the twenty third novel. Maybe someday? Hey a girl can dream, can't she?
I would make  recommendation tho, I think the narrator is having an identity crisis or something, some of the characters she reads is different at times. I can't imagine how she remembers all of them. I prefer reading them instead, because of that.
If you love mysteries with a bit of humor(tho I wouldn't read it in public, cause people might look at you funny cause you are laughing out loud) I would highly recommend this series. I also like the fact you don't have to read them in order to understand, but it helps.



PS- Does anyone know what the rules are for using book covers on blogs? Thanks. I was afraid to use one from googling.

Wednesday, December 19, 2018

Weekly Coffee Chat - Ebooks vs. Hard Copy Books?


Hi gang,  I had a recent scare this week, my tablet crashed. Thankfully, my best friend is a tech geek and was able to help me via phone text. But, I realized I lost a lot of ebooks. Only ones that got saved are the ones that I had on Kindle and Kobo. But the ones on Aldiko and the universal reader are all gone. That got me to thinking how I prefer real books. Here are my pros and cons.

Pros:
Hard Copy - you don't have to worry about losing it if your computer crashes
Hard Copy - you can retake a photo, when you lose your photos after a computer crash.

Hard Copy - you can use them as decorations
Hard Copy -  easier to donate

Ebooks - takes up less space

Cons:
Hard copy - worry about them getting damaged or lost
Hard copy - can't use a highlighter(well most people don't)
Hard copy - can get lost in mail
Ebooks - no smell
Ebooks - needs electricity or long battery


I'm sure there are more, maybe you can let me know?
So, this is my question, which do you prefer hard copies or ebooks?
Oh and do you give hard copy or ebooks for gifts?

Have a great week!
Renee


Tuesday, December 11, 2018

#Blogtour - Fukushima Dreams


Fukishima Dreams by Zelda Rhiando
  • Paperback: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Unbound Digital (19 Dec. 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1911586882
  • ISBN-13: 978-1911586883



BLURB Sachiko and her husband Harry live in a village on the North-east coast of Japan. They are both struggling to adapt to life as new parents to their infant son Tashi. In the aftermath of the tsunami, Sachiko wakes alone. Her family is missing. She begins a desperate search until radiation fallout from the Fukushima power plant forces her to leave the area. She moves to Tokyo, and a different life. Harry has fled to a refuge on an isolated mountain, abandoning his family. He lives there, haunted by guilt and hovering on the edge of sanity. Will they find each other and confront the question of their missing son?



ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Zelda Rhiando was born in Dublin and read English Literature at Cambridge. She lives in South London with her husband, two daughters and four cats, and is one of the founders of the Brixton BookJam. She is the author of two novels, Caposcripti and Fukushima Dreams.

Twitter : @badzelda



I'm so sorry, I did not have time to read this, as my health has gotten worse.
I am hoping to read it soon, since it sounds intriging, and will post the review separately.


.







Saturday, December 8, 2018

Weekly Coffee Chat - #HolidaFun


Hi gang, sorry behind again. I'll be glad when I can find out what's wrong with me, this being tired all the time is getting old.

Who'd like to play a game with me?

This is my version of the 12 days of Christmas song.
In case you don't know the song, here is one on youtube.
Btw, this is my alltime favorite version of it, I grew up having a crush on John Denver. hehe

12 Days of Christmas


12 Books of Christmas.....

12 books of Christmas

Do you know the song the Twelve Days of Christmas? Well,
here is my version of it.

On the first day of Christmas I wish Santa would bring to me…
Curius Minds by Janet Evanovich.

On the second day of Christmas I wish Santa would bring to me…
the second book to Lauren Elliott’s Murder by the Book series.

On the third day of Christmas I wish Santa would bring to me…
the Third of the Gobling Crown Trilogy by Robert Hewitt Wolfe.


On the fourth day of Christmas I wish Santa would bring to me…
the fourth of the Charmed series by Janet Evanovich.

On the fifth day of Christmas I wish Santa would bring to me…
all five of Miranda James’ a Cat in the Stacks Mysteries.


On the sixth day of Christmas I wish Santa would bring to me..
the six books of the Succubus series by Richelle Mead.

On the seventh day of Christmas I wish Santa would bring to me..
Seven Up by Janet Evanovich.

On the eighth day of Christmas I wish Santa would bring to me..
eight Outlander series books by Diana Gabaldon.

On the ninth day of Christmas I wish Santa would bring to me..
nine Sherlock Holmes mysteries by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

On the tenth day of Christmas I wish Santa would bring to me..
ten Christmas cozy mysteries.

On the 11th day of Christmas I wish Santa would bring to me..
Lord(11 lords a leaping) of the Rings trilogy by J. R. R. Tolkien.(Yes, I do reread books)lol

On the 12th day of Christmas I wish Santa would bring to me..
the first twelve of Anita Blake series by Laurell K. Hamilton.



So...who'd like to play? lol
If you do this as a blog, could you please post your link on my comment,
so that I can read them. Much obliged.

Cheers!
Renee


Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Bookish Blog Hops-What Fictional Character Would You Like to Kiss Under the Mistletoe?


Hi gang, I'm doing something different, and have never done these before, I hope I'm doing this right?

I'm in a wonderful facebook group called Bookish Blog Hops.
The do blog hops with themes. This time around it's Christmas related.

I absolutely loved this question....
What fictional character would you like to kiss under the mistletoe? *grins*

That's an easy one. Ranger aka Ricardo Carlos Minoso(sp). He's from the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich. Most people seem to like Morelli best but not me. Ranger started out as a bounty hunter who becomes Stephanie's mentor. He has a shady past and was married at one time, so Stephanie doesn't think he'll ever marry again. I hope that's not the case. He's a Cuban American, with lots of muscles. (In the movie, Daniel Sunjata played him, and was spot on.)
You'd always feel safe with Ranger around.

Here are a couple of other answers from the people in this group.


5th December A fictional character you’d like to kiss under the mistletoe
Holiday Hop
5th December
A fictional character you’d like to kiss under the mistletoe
Hosted by

Answers:

My answer is kind of Christmas themed. I thought about Mr. Darcy or Mr. Rochester but neither is Christmassy… Now… while never a romantic lead in the series, I have ALWAYS crushed on a certain elf that you would know as Legolas from Lord of the Rings. Full name: Prince Legolas Greenleaf of the Woodland Realm. What’s not to love? Fine Elvish features. Wisdom. Humor. Honor. Compassion and a humanitarian, cause let’s face it, he didn’t save Middle Earth for his kind. Yep. Have to go with Legolas the CHristmas Elf tee hee.
As you might know, I read mostly Romance. But I have to say, many Romance heroes are just too broody for my taste. So I have to go in an entirely different direction to pick my fictional character to kiss under the mistletoe. Who I would absolutely enjoy kissing is Capt. Jack Harkness. I'm listening to the Torchwood audiobooks now and he was, is and will always be the absolutely awesomest!




My reply: OMG...yes to Captain Jack Harkness!!! I'm so ashamed I didn't know that Torchwood had books? Thanks Eline!

I agree on Legolas as well, excellent choice Brandy. He was one of my favs in LoR.

So....who would you like to kiss under the mistletoe?

Renee

Monday, December 3, 2018

Spells and Silver Bells by Lucy May mini review


I thought this was a fascinating and delightful read. The world building was done really well, made me wish I lived in that small town. The characters were a lot of fun too. I loved how she used Salem's witch trials to explain how this town came to be. The use of their lighthouse was fascinating as well and the mystery of how it got broken. And the main character's destiny, was a great part of the story.

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.