Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Weekly Coffee Chat-Tribute for Mr. #StanLee


Hi gang, I had another idea for this week's chat, but since I heard the news of Mr. Stan Lee, I had to do a tribute post for him. May he RIP.

I admit I never read comics, but I had watched the Avenger movies, at least some. It was one of the few things my son and I had in common. He loves Captain America, I love Iron Man and the Black Widow(she should have had her own movie, imo). I haven't gotten to watch a lot of them in recent years, too broke to afford movies. But, I thought it was so cool when I realized that Captain America II was set in my city of Cleveland. There is a scene that is in the store I shop at, but at that time it was a bank. And the famous Captain America and the Black Widow kiss was at the mall I shop at, right down the street from me. I had kind of hoped those two would end up together. ah well. lol



"Comics are stories. They're like novels or anything else. So the first thing you have to do is become a good storyteller." Stan Lee

I though those were wise words. Not only was he good, he was the best of the best, at least in my opinion. I could only hope to be half as good as he was.

So, how about you, are you a comic book fan? Do you have any recommendations for me as to where to start?
And are you a fan of Mr. Lee? I know he's not everyone's cup of tea.  If you are, what is your favorite movie of his?

A prayer to the stars for his family.
Renee

Monday, November 12, 2018

Fairy Tales can Come True......


I was lucky enough to win a signed copy for an honest review.

Murder by the Book-Lauren Elliott
Publisher: Kensingtonbooks.com
5 Star rating

Murder by the Book is about a woman named Addison, who inherits her Aunt's home and apparently a secret. Thanks to her Aunt's money and attic treasures, for example, antique books.Addie was able to open a book store. Lots of odd things happen, like murders and break-ins. Her new best friend's brother happens to be the Chief of Police and helps her finds out what is going on with the murders and break-ins. Thanks to a few twists they learn what secret her Aunt had.


I absolutely loved this book! I couldn't put it down. The characters were so fun. I especially liked Marc, the police chief, and was happy that he and Addie had some flirtations going on. There was such an amazing twist, that I did not see coming, was such a cool idea. I usually can guess the mystery early on, but not this time, especially when the twist showed up. Not only was there a mystery about Addie's past, but it somehow coincided with the mystery going on in the small town she moved too. The ending was awesome, I love it when the main character kicks booty(can I say that?).lol

If you love books, antiques and a mystery, then I highly recommend this one.
Also, I am not the only one. She is #3 in the best sellers list for her local city, which has over 1 million people. I say that is pretty cool, congrats to Lauren Elliott on that achievement!


Thursday, November 8, 2018

Weekly Coffee Chat-Christmas


Hi gang,
Sorry for the delay, thanks to my health I have gotten behind on my blogging.
One of these days, I will get a set schedule, maybe. Luckily, I'll see an eye doctor and a doctor within the next two weeks.

This week's topic is Christmas. I noticed over the years that the holiday season tends to start earlier and earlier. Next thing we'll see is Halloween will be taken over by Christmas. lol

I admit, I listen to Christmas music starting on Labor Day weekend. Weird thing is, I don't believe in God, but I still like to celebrate the holiday.
My take on Christmas is this:
Most people believe that Christmas is to celebrate the birth of Jesus.
I believe that Christmas is to celebrate peace and love for all of us.

I was craving a good Christmas story, but not the kind about finding God.
Then, I got lucky and won an arc copy of Six Cats a Slayin by Miranda James.

You can read my review of it here. If you want a heart warming story with an amazing twist, then I highly recommend it.

So, now I am completely hooked on these kinds of stories. It was just what I needed.

So, my questions for all of you is, when do you start reading Christmas themed stories? And how soon do you start getting into the holiday season? Do you have a favorite novel you'd like to share? Please post the answers in the comments thanks!

Oh and if you are an author or know of one, who writes these kinds of stories, and are willing to give a free book for a review, please check my book review info page. I'd love to share yours to all my social media. Thanks bunches!

Happy Holidays!
Renee

Saturday, November 3, 2018

Six Cats a Slayin' by Miranda James


I was lucky enough to win this Arc for review copy. Isn't that the most adorable cover ever? I just love it. I was in the mood for a Christmas theme book and this was just perfect.

This book is about a man named Charlie Harris and his Main Coon cat Diesel. Charlie works for the Library and has two boarders at his house as well as a housekeeper. He also has a partner who owns a bistro. One day he finds a box of 5 kittens on his porch and he takes care of them, while trying to find their owners. He also has a new neighbor who seems suspicious. Later that neighbor is murdered at their Christmas party, that Charlie had attended. He helps the police find the murderer, since he's helped them in the past.

This is actually book 6 in the series. I never read the others, and didn't feel totally lost. I like that, when I can read a series out of order. Tho, I do want to read the rest, especially to learn more about his boarders Stewart and Haskell. 
Charlie's best friend, Melba, is a hoot, she's the one who figured out something was fishy with Charlie's new neighbor. The only thing I didn't like about this book, was there were some words that I didn't understand(which doesn't happen very often). I am guessing they are Southern words?
Charlie kept himself busy with the mysteries of the kitten's owner and the new neighbor. After the death of the neighbor, he and Kanesha(one of the cops) learns something about the neighbor. I swear I had not seen that twist coming. I was blown away. Now mind you, I'm pretty good at guessing the mystery early on, but I was pleasantly surprised. I just love a good twist. I admit I guessed the suspect wrong too, and was surprised how they found out. There was also a heartwarming ending, the kind you see in the Hallmark Christmas movies. Btw, this would be great as one, just saying. 
It was also refreshing to read about a main male character for a change. All the other cozies I've read have had female ones. He'd also be the type I'd date, tho maybe a bit older, another reason why I liked him. Most of the books I read are about younger people and they are hard to relate sometimes.

So, if you are in a mood for a good heart warming Christmas story with a good twist and fun characters, then I definitely recommend this one.
I am hoping to be able to read the rest of hers now, as I'm hooked.

Friday, October 26, 2018

Friday's Five



In one of my facebook groups we had an interesting discussion about book blogging. Well, it was mostly a bunch of us book bloggers reminding this author what it is we do. Luckily, it all turned out well in the end, and the gentleman was nice enough to apologize. But it got me pondering. There are a lot of bloggers who get paid, but book bloggers do not(as far as I know?). Only time we can get paid is if we work for a site or for a magazine. So, why do we do it, if we can't get paid? Here are my reasons for it.

  1.  Free Books! Yes, I'll admit it and say that is one of my main reasons. I am a bookaholic on a very tight budget, so I love the word free. lol
  2.  Meet new authors, and sometimes even get to talk to them either by email or a facebook group. I did a book review on readersfavorite and found out the author is in one of my book groups, I thought that was so cool. Here is a photo of her novel I read.
  3. Meet other book lovers. If you are lucky enough you can become friends with them too. That is actually a goal of mine for this blog. I love talking about books so the more people I can talk to about them, the better.
  4.  Experience. I realized I have writing skills but no experience. Companies don't hire you without experience. So, the only way I knew how to get any was by blogging. 
  5.  Finding books that I normally wouldn't read. I'm usually a creature of habit when I go buy books. But, thanks to book blogging I have found some real gems, even got to read books before they are published(ARCS) I love that idea.

So, those are my main reasons for blogging. Now, I'd like to hear why you blog? Who knows, maybe some of you have a reason I didn't think about. Please feel free to post them in the comments. Thanks!

Have a great weekend and happy reading!!
Renee




Tuesday, October 23, 2018

Tuesday's Coffee Chat



Hello everyone!  Can you believe that this year is almost over? In fact, next week starts NanoWrimo. I tried it last year, but didn't have much time. It'll be different this year, at least I hope.

What is NanoWrimo? It's a great place for writers to get their novel finished. If you can finish 50,000 words in one month, you can win some really cool prizes. They have a way for you to keep track. Also, some cool resources and peptalks from authors. Also, a great way to make new friends.

My favorite part of it is the way to keep count, if I remember to post the day's count that is. lol


So, my questions for you to answer in the comments are....

1-Are you doing NanoWrimo?
2-Do you prepare ahead of time, and if you do, how do you do it?
3-How do you keep yourself motivated?

Would love to hear your answers, please. Thanks bunches!
Oh and if you need any friends, feel free to send a request to me.

Good luck!

Friday, October 19, 2018

Friday's Five

Hello gang, hope you all had a wonderful week! TGIF!
Since I changed my genre preferences, I decided to do things a bit differently.
I'd like to do a Top Five, and since Halloween is around the corner, I will use that as my theme this week.




1-What was the scariest novel you have ever read?
I think that would have to be Cujo. Course, I was stupid and read it when I was only 8 years old. I don't think I finished, had nightmares for a week. Never did read Stephen King again. 

2-What is your favorite ghost story?
Amityville Horror by Jay Anson

3-What is your favorite scary cozy?
I have a few, any by Janet Evanovich.
But this one is also a good one. If you like Ghost stories, witches, and a smidgen of time travel, this is the perfect recipe. 

4-What character would you like to dress up as?
Yes, I know that is asked a lot, seemed appropriate.
I'd love to dress up as Stephanie Plum(Janet Evanovich) as a casual bounty hunter.

5-Not book related, but what is your favorite Halloween candy?
I love those mello creme pumpkins. yum. Yes, you are never too old for candy. hehe

Ok, now I'd love to see you answer these in your blogs, please. Thanks!
Oh, and I do link swaps, if your interested please let me  know. 

Have a wonderful weekend! Happy reading!
Reneee

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Tuesday's Coffee Break




Good evening, everyone! Sorry, a bit behind. Think I'm getting a sinus infection or a cold, luckily I have a doctor's appointment soon. Drinking lots of tea in the meantime.

Doing something a bit different this time. Thanks to @Erica Metcalf for letting me know about Blog Tags. This sounded like great fun.

Now, I admit I have not seen this movie in years, and never read the book, it's on my TBR pile. And I know it's not Christmas yet, but I loved the questions.

                     A Nightmare Before Christmas Blog tag

Jack-A book with a character who longs for more...
Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series
Stephanie's Mom longs for Stephanie to have a normal life with a job and a husband, instead of her being a bounty hunter.

Sally-A book with a character who loves someone so much and actually gets them in the end
I just realized I can't really answer this, as I read mostly series, so I can't think of one offhand.

Zero-A book with a loyal Sidekick
Drats, Erica took my answer...lol ...she answered Ford Prefect from the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy(My all time favorite book, btw).
So, I'll mention a second choice.
Janet Evanovich's Charmed Series
Diesel is Lizzy's loyal sidekick, who saves her life a few times and is hot as hell. hehe hmm can I say hell? lol
(Yes, she's my fav writer these days..lol)

Oogie Boogie - A book with one hell of a wicked villain
Dead Princess Walking by L.M. Shuckraft
The Evil Queen..need I say more? hehe
You can read my review here to know a bit more..
Dead Princess Walking


Halloween Town - A book that's creepy or has a scary theme
The Amityville Horror by Jay Anson
When I was maybe 8, my Cousin and I used to read this to each other at night, and she's always scare me, she was good at that. lol

Christmas Town - A book that left you feeling warm and fuzzy inside
hmm...my memory is failing, I'll have to get back to you..lol 

What's This? - A book that took you by surprise
Dead Princess Walking
I thought it was going to be about Vampires..lol


So, now it is your turn! If you fill these questions out on your blog, would you please post your blog in my comments, so we can check them out?
Thanks bunches!
Have a great week!

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Tuesday's Coffee Break





Hi gang, I decided to do a weekly coffee chat. This week's topic is reader's burnout, block, slump, whatever term you want to call it. I realized lately, that I've been feeling a bit burned out, and have to force myself to read. I never had that problem before. Earlier, I had been reading any type of genre for this blog, but I kept getting books that I couldn't finish, just couldn't get into them. so, I went back to my three favorite genres, Scifi, Fantasy, and Mysteries.
I've gotten behind on my reading, luckily most of the authors are understanding about it. But, I feel bad for taking so long. I know it might be cause, I need my eyes checked and glasses.  Plus, I have other health issues.

My questions for you all, have you had an issue with reader's burnout? If so, how do you handle it? Please, feel free to post in the comments, maybe other's will find it useful too? Thanks bunches!

The only thing I know to do, is to work on my own novel or write short stories. But, then I feel guilty for not reading?

Hope you all have a wonderful week!
Happy reading!

Renee

Wednesday, October 3, 2018

Wednesday's Wishes


Since it's October, and that means Autumn, I decided to go with a theme that means Autumn to me. When it gets cooler, I like to curl up with a blanket and a hot cup of coffee or hot chocolate and read a cozy mystery. I've been hooked on them lately.

Btw, if you write or know someone who writes cozy mysteries, please check my homepage. I would love to do a free book review for you. Thanks!

I read two recently that happened to be book 2. So my wish this week is to get book 1 for each of them. I liked these series, cause you don't have to read them in order to understand them, like you sometimes have too.

Playing with BonBon Fire(A Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery) by Dorothy St. James
Was a fun read. It's about about a girl who finally gets to run her family's Chocolate Shop, much to their dismay. She tries hard to show them she can do it, and starts working on a new truffle recipe. While she's doing that she's also in charge of the beach festival that her small town has every year. A long time friend of hers happens to be a famous musician, and he comes to do a show there. A murder happens on the beach, and her truffles is part of the evidence.  People are blaming her friend. Plus, she's also trying to find out who her real Mother is. 
I admit, I figured out who the murderer was, but it did take me a little longer than usual, I kept going back and forth. I'm hardly ever surprised these days. But the characters were fun. Her world building was really good too, I could picture myself at the beach. My favorite part was the fact that she had recipes for her candy at the end. Someday, I might actually try making them.
It's a fun and quick read. 


Writing is Murder(An Emlyn Goode Mystery) by Susan Lynn Solomon 
is a great read to get you into the Halloween Spirit. 
Emlyn is a writer who, apparently has a Witch in her family tree. She inherited the lady's Book of Spells. In her town there is an old Native American curse, and she's not sure if it's true. She was on the jury trial in the past cause of it. Years later, she's back on the family's case. She's in a writing group, and she thought she could trust them all, as they have been friends for a long time. One of them gets murdered. Her cop boyfriend has her as a suspect, so she does what she can to help clear her name, much to his dismay.
What I really loved about this, was that it had character's my age. I'm almost 50 and these days it's hard to find good novels about characters my age. It's mostly 20 somethings. I was also pleasantly surprised by the ending, she had a great twist. That doesn't happen to me very often. She even added a bit of time travel into this, which is one of my favorite subjects, and it was such a cool way of doing it. I think this is a definite must read, especially if you love Halloween.

Friday, September 28, 2018

Friday's Flicks




Hi gang,
It's TGIF! I know there are a lot of books out there that have turned into movies.
I thought I would use Fridays to talk about them. I hope my book will be turned into one someday. hehe
I know most of us prefer books over movies. But, is there a movie(from a book) that you really really liked, maybe even better than a book? If so, please mention it in the comments.

Btw, I do free book reviews, book tours and author interviews. Please check my homepage if interested, thank you.

I'm a Scifi fanatic, so I'll start with a Scifi Classic. Dare I say, one of the greatest booktomovie of all time? Feel free to debate this.

The book and movie was actually written together by Arthur C. Clarke and Stanley Kubrick. It also has one of the greatest theme songs ever, IMO.

Here is the 2001: A Space Odyssey's A Beautiful Blue Danube
A Space Odyssey


This book is about an Alien race who uses a monolith to search the galaxy for intelligent life. 4 million years ago, it shows up in Africa and helps the ape-men to make tools to kill animals, than one learns to kill another ape-man.
Then in the future(1999), they are on a spaceship with an intelligent computer named Hal. A few Astronauts die because of the computer. Bowman, the only Astronaut left gets pulled into the monolith and finds other ships and worlds in it. He becomes an immortal "Star Child" and returns to Earth to detonate a nuclear warhead.


I always loved the idea of an Alien species being the one who helps humans become who they are. I know there has been a lot of debate about that subject. Like is "GOD" an alien.
It is definitely something to ponder.
And what would you do if you were Bowman? Would you be willing to stay on a spaceship with an intelligent computer, or would you try to find a way out, even if it means death?
Honestly, I'm not sure what I would do.

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend! I can't believe it's almost October already?

Wednesday, September 26, 2018

Wednesday's Wishes





Hello gang,
I just realized that I can do more than just book reviews on a book blog. Not sure why I didn't realize that before. Good thing, since I can't read that fast. I'm hoping to get my eyes checked soon, so I can get glasses. Maybe, that will help me read faster? lol
Anyhow, I don't know about you, but I have a huge list of books I wish I had. So, I decided each Wednesday to talk about a few of them.

What about you, how big is your list? Please feel free to share your's in the comment section. Thanks!  I'm always looking for more to add to mine. LOL

My favorite author these days is Janet Evanovich. She is such a hoot. Which help when I get in my anxiety funk. I can read one of her novels in one evening and feel so much better.
She has many series out these days, wish I knew how she writes that fast.
I do feel bad tho, her Heist series is a bit hard for me to get into, and I just can't figure out why. I feel disloyal for even saying that.
Do you ever have that issue?

Thanks to life and lack of funds, I got behind on my reading. And yes, I know about the Library, but I'm ashamed to say I have a fine I can't' pay yet. *shakes head at myself*

If you haven't read any of hers, I recommend reading the Stephanie Plum novels first. The good thing about her series, is, that you don't have to read them in order to understand.

She also has a wonderful way of putting two different series together. Like the first book I'm mentioning, Diesel is from the Charmed Series, but he sometimes ends up having the same case as Stephanie Plum, so they end up working together.

So, my wish list for this week is:

Hardcore Twenty-Four  is about Stephanie Plum, who is a Bounty Hunter. She works for her Cousin, Vinnie's Bail Bonds.  This time she has to find out who is stealing headless bodies from Morgues and Graveyards. Plus, Diesel(from another series) is back, causing more mayhem in her love life.

Look Alive Twenty-Five Stephanie Plum goes undercover, to find out why the Managers from a popular deli goes missing.

Dangerous Minds, is a sequel to Curious Minds. You do not have to read them in order either, but it does help a bit. This series is about Emerson Knight who is a rich eccentric, he hires Riley Moon to help him solve cases. In Dangerous Minds they are helping a Buddhist Monk find his lost island of solitude. They go to places like Yellowstone National Park and Hawaii to find clues.

Happy Reading!

Sunday, September 16, 2018

Snow White is a.....What?!!!



This is an ARC that was given to me by L.M. Shukraft to read for an honest review.

Dead Princess Walking is a different take on Snow White and the Seven Dwarves. Whatever you knew about fairy tales, will be changed with this story. It does help for you to know some of the fairy tales, especially Snow White and Sleeping Beauty.  This will be written as a series. Snow White and her friends go on a quest to help save the Magic Kingdom. They have 7 quests to go on.

I loved the new elements to this story. Especially the story behind Snow White, and what she really is. The Characters are pretty cool, most of them are not what you think they should be. There’s Princess Snow White(main character) who finds out what she really is, and learns about her past. She was originally going to run away from the Evil Queen on her own, but somehow Hunter the Huntsman joins her. There is a little flirting, and you hope in the long run they get married. Hunter is great eye candy, so to speak.
She also befriends a bunch of pixies, the head of them, Binks, is such a hoot. I love the language he uses, he’s not afraid to say what he thinks. Then there are the cave goblins. Definitely interesting creatures along the way.
The world building is amazing, you almost hope it gets turned into a movie or tv show, so you can see it.
I’m really hoping this gets turned into a series, I love reading series. And this has been one of the best books I’ve read this year. I’m putting it in my top 3 right now.
It’s just a really fun read and I even laughed out loud a few times, always a plus in my book.
I will keep you posted when this becomes available.

Friday, September 14, 2018

the Business of American Injustice by Sydney Williams

The Business of American InjusticeThe Business of American Injustice by Sydney Williams
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I read this for readersfavorite.com

The Business of American Injustice by Sydney Williams is about the injustice of the American system. He tells his story about how he and his wife had to go to prison for a technical violation of a statute they did not realize was a crime. Sydney Williams mentions how the system works in the prison as well as in the court room. He talks about the mistreatment in the prison, like not getting healthy food to eat, and how the workers prey on the inmates by selling them food and such. He also tells his story about how they confiscated all their belongings at their home. Sydney Williams said his story was still ongoing.

I thought that The Business of American Injustice by Sydney Williams was a fascinating story full of hope. I liked how he gave us the definitions of the terms of why he went to prison. I admit I’m still a bit confused on some of them. Sydney Williams went into great details of his incarceration, which were horrifying. It’s hard to imagine people treating other people like that. He explained what went on in the hearings too, which was shocking to read. I never had any love for the government, no matter what the party is, but now I have even less love for it. I do hope that he never gives up and that he and his wife are still together. I have always wondered if true love exists and, thanks to them, I know it does. I hope it turns out well for the author.

View all my reviews He was nice enough to give me some really good feedback: Renee, Your review really touched my heart, I have been very blessed with a loyal and supportive wife. All the adversity has made us stronger and I know there is so much purpose in our story to share. Your words "Horrifying and Shocking" are on point to our story. American people need to know that it can happen to anyone. I know your review will have an impact and people will want to read my book. Many Blessings, Sydney Williams P.S. True Love does exist in the Universe and it will come for you!

Sunday, September 9, 2018




I got a copy of the Goblin Crown by the Turner Publishing Company for free, to review.
I won a copy of the Fallen Star(book 2) from a Turner Publishing contest.

One of my all time favorite tv writers is Robert Hewitt Wolfe. He did shows like Star Trek DS9, Andromeda, and my latest obsession, Elementary. He is a genius when it comes to storytelling and world building. He recently wrote a trilogy, called Billy Smith and the Goblins. It’s about three teenager, two boys and one girl, who gets thrown into the Goblin world. One of the teenagers was bullying the other two. But thanks to their new fate, they have to find a way to work together to help the Goblins, so they can go home. Turns out one of them is the King and another one is a Fire Wizard. Originally they had tried to get the Crown(which glows when the real king puts it on) on one of the guys. Turns out they had the wrong guy, and not only that, they were sentenced to death. But they find themselves in an area where humans and wizards lived, and learned new skills.  Over time they managed to get the crown on the right person, with lots of twists and turns. Even tho you know there is a second book, you still keep guessing as to what their fate is. The scenery is absolutely breathtaking, and some of the Goblin songs is mesmerizing. I have to admit, I usually don’t read young adult books, and had a little trouble getting into it. But, I’m glad I did. I can’t wait for the third book to come out(not till next Spring, unfortunately). I think this book would be great for teenagers to read, and learn that being a bully only hurts you in the end. It’s better that you become allies instead. I think it would be a great learning tool. I know in this day and age, with all the school shootings, if we can find ways to reach out to the kids and teach them that being different is ok and that bullying is not, then maybe, just maybe we’d have less school shootings.  I think reading books like these with your kids, would be a step in the right direction.

This was written for Readersfavorite.com
Garden Walks: Hand in Hand-Poems to relax by, by Gary William Burns, is a book of poems about Gardens, love, and a little pain. Gary William Burns uses a relaxing rhythm and cadence to calm you. Even the photos have a calming effect. He shows you the beauty and wonder of Nature and love. Even the pain is shown as beautiful. He describes the scenery in great detail. It almost sounds like music. It’s a lovely book of poems, and should be read in the Garden, for even more effect. It’s a short book with many short poems, that can be read in one evening.
I thought Garden Walks: Hand in Hand-Poems to relax by was a lovely read. Gary William Burns does a wonderful job with the rhythm and cadence. I like that it had short poems and the book could be read in one evening. I think it’s a great way to relax, especially with a nice cup of tea. Gary William Burns does a wonderful job with world building as well. I can literally see the Gardens and flowers he describes. I was impressed at how I can feel the love. If I had to choose a favorite, I think it would be Garden Nova, but honestly, it is hard to decide. I loved how peaceful I felt afterwards. I had wished I had a Garden after that. I think that the next time I need to relax, I will resort back to this book, instead of an app.

I got some lovely feedback from Mr. Burns:
Excellent Reviewer! Your sensitivity to the poetry is outstanding. Your grasp of the totality of the book as a calming and relaxing expose is superb. The composition is very nicely structured and flows well. Gratus Aeternum. Your humble poet 5+

Why Reading Janet Evanovich is Better than Medicine

I have been battling Anxiety issues for 40 years. I have tried many ways to manage it. One of the best ways to deal with an “episode” is to read. It helps you take your mind off of whatever is bothering you. They say laughter is the best medicine, and I highly agree. That is why I started reading Janet Evanovich’s books. Little did I know, her books would become an addiction. I started reading her Stephanie Plum series, and fell in love with Stephanie and her family and friends. Most especially, her friend Ranger. Stephanie had to overcome a divorce and being jobless (just like me) but finds out she can be a Bounty Hunter,(ok, I’m not that brave, unfortunately) thanks to her Cousin, Vinny. She goes after many bad guys, even mobsters. Luckily, she has help with her boyfriend, who is a plain clothes Cop. She also has Ranger, another Bounty Hunter, who tries to seduce her many times. Stephanie also has a family, that isn’t quite normal. Her Grandma is such a hoot, who has a lot of spunk. Makes me hope I can be like her someday. I have to admit, I got behind on her series, she’s up to 25 now. But I have been reading some of her other series too. I hate to say this, and I actually feel disloyal for saying it, but I couldn’t get into her Heist series. I feel so ashamed. Maybe, I’ll try again. But all of her series are such a fun and quick read. I would suggest you not read them in public, cause you will be laughing out loud. Some people might look at you, like you are a crazy person. Seriously tho, her books are so much better than medicine. By the time I finish one, I feel so much better. After laughing a few times, and by the end of the book, you feel full of hope, like you can tackle anything. It’s just what the Doctor ordered.

Small Feet on the Run by Sieglinde Martin


I got this book for free to review. This was written by one of my best friend's Mom.  Thanks to them, I learned that I can do book reviews for a living.

Small​ ​Feet​ ​on​ ​the​ ​Run​ ​is​ ​a​ ​WWII​ ​book​ ​written​ ​by​ ​Sieglinde​ ​Martin.​ ​She​ ​had​ ​asked​ ​16​ ​people​ ​to​ ​tell​ ​their​ ​stories​ ​about​ ​growing​ ​up​ ​ ​during​ ​WWII.​ ​
All these stories had hope in them.  The children would find ways to amuse themselves.  Like Annemarie would dress her Aunt’s dog in dresses and scarves. Ingrid, found watching the activities at a Makeshift hospital new and exciting. Surprisingly, they would also collect bomb shrapnel to trade like baseball cards. Even in an air raid shelter, they can find amusement. Like this one gentleman had to use a pot for a helmet, and had trouble getting it off. The kids found it amusing, though the parents, of course, did not.
They also had to travel long distances by trains that were so packed, you could only carry a few things, and no facilities, only when the train stops and they can use the outdoors. One little girl, Anna had to travel alone. Her parents had to leave her behind at a hospital, since she was too sick to travel.  She had gotten some money from her Father, and was able to use that for a ticket. She had help from a couple of lovely ladies as well.
I liked how the kids thought the American Soldiers were nice. The Soldiers would even give some of them candy.
At​ ​the​ ​end​ ​of​ ​each​ ​story​ ​she​ ​asked​ ​the storytellers if  the​ ​war​ ​affected​ ​them​. ​It​ ​was​ ​nice to​ ​hear​ ​how​ ​they​ ​coped​ ​afterwards,​ ​kind​ ​of​ ​like​ ​a​ ​sequel​ ​to​ ​their​ ​stories.
She even gave her own story, which I thought was a nice touch.
Ms.Martin​ ​was​ ​kind​ ​enough​ ​to​ ​have​ ​a​ ​map​ ​and​ ​gave​ ​details​ ​about​ ​the​ ​cities and regions,​ ​which​ ​is​ ​nice when​ ​you’re​ ​not​ ​very​ ​good​ ​at​ ​geography.​ ​She​ ​also​ ​gives​ ​definitions​ ​for​ ​German​ ​or Russian​ ​words,​ ​in​ ​case​ ​you​ ​didn’t​ ​study​ ​those​ ​in​ ​school.
At​ ​the​ ​end​ ​of​ ​the​ ​book,​ ​she​ ​goes​ ​into​ ​great​ ​detail​ ​about​ ​how​ ​the​ ​war​ ​would​ ​affect​ ​the economy.​ ​Some​ ​of​ ​those​ ​numbers​ ​seemed​ ​staggering,​ ​you​ ​wonder​ ​if​ ​Politicians​ ​really understand​ ​the​ ​complexity​ ​of​ ​it.  
She​ ​even​ ​talked​ ​about​ ​how​ ​it​ ​would​ ​affect​ ​the​ ​climate​ ​change,​ ​which​ ​I​ ​found​ ​fascinating.
You​ ​wonder​ ​how​ ​people​ ​can​ ​go​ ​to​ ​war.​ ​I​ ​mean​ ​we​ ​are​ ​all​ ​humans,​ ​how​ ​can​ ​we​ ​just​ ​kill innocent​ ​people​ ​like​ ​they​ ​did​ ​in​ ​WWII?​ ​They​ ​hadn’t​ ​done​ ​anything​ ​wrong,​ ​yet​ ​they​ ​still get​ ​punished.​ ​And​ ​the​ ​Governments​ ​don’t​ ​seem​ ​to​ ​care ​about​ ​stuff​ ​like​ ​that​ ​when​ ​they go​ ​to​ ​war.
I​ ​agree​ ​with​ ​Ms.​ ​Martin,​ ​we​ ​should​ ​get​ ​rid​ ​of​ ​war.​ ​But​ ​that​ ​may​ ​never​ ​happen.​ ​Maybe​ ​if we​ ​get​ ​rid​ ​of​ ​all​ ​the​ ​weapons?​ ​But​ ​that​ ​seems​ ​like​ ​a​ ​daunting​ ​task. Maybe​ ​someday​ ​we​ ​can​ ​live​ ​in​ ​Peace.​ ​But​ ​for​ ​now​ ​we​ ​can​ ​only​ ​hope. No​ ​more​ ​war,​ ​is​ ​a​ ​slogan​ ​Ms.​ ​Martin​ ​uses,​ ​maybe​ ​we​ ​should​ ​all​ ​start​ ​saying​ ​it.
I had learned a lot from this book. But the main thing I learned, is that people are resilient. No matter how hard things are in life, there is always a silver lining.  People learned to make due with what they have and know exactly what is important, mainly their family and health. As long as you have both of those, you can overcome anything. Even if you don’t, you still push on, no matter how tired you are.
If​ ​you​ ​are​ ​a​ ​fan​ ​of​ ​History​ ​or​ ​a​ ​WWII​ ​buff,​ ​then​ ​I​ ​would​ ​highly​ ​recommend​ ​reading​ ​this book. And​ ​even​ ​if​ ​you​ ​aren’t,​ ​it​ ​is​ ​a​ ​fascinating​ ​read.​ ​It’s​ ​like​ ​sitting​ ​with​ ​your​ ​Grandparents and​ ​listening​ ​to​ ​them​ ​telling​ ​their​ ​stories​ ​of​ ​their​ ​past.